h1

D’All Weekend Long

March 9, 2009

Between 3 PM Saturday and 11 AM Monday, I got 8 emails from Dr. NMT on a poster/flyer for an academic advising and majors “fair” on campus next week when he’ll be “busy at an all-day….” The first email subject line: Please check out this D’oh poster which features you! Dr. NMT featured on the poster himself, 2 former students of his, one of whom published a book of poetry recently, myself, and a professor in our department who only got to teach in the concentration when Dr. NMT was off on leave teaching on the East Coast.

Three hours later, another email, subject line: Please check out this revised D’oh poster which features you! In the message, he’s written something like, Minor changes. It’s Saturday. I resolve to deal with it Monday morning. I have questions, criticisms, complaints about the poster that Dr. NMT will have someone, who knows, hand out as a flyer at the fair.

30 minutes later, sent to the entire department plus 1 or 2 retired professors, subject line: 4 the Majors Fair, a Creative Writing Poster. There are still errors. It’s still Saturday. Yeah, I still check my email but I save work, now, in my intellectual dotage, to the 5-day work week.

4 hours later, what appears to be the same poster is sent again to the entire department plus 1-2 retired professors: 4 the Majors Fair, a Creative Writing Poster.

2 hours later, after someone has obviously given some feedback finally, the entire department plus 1-2 retired professors gets: Re: Revised poster 4 the Majors Fair. Some large errors are gone. I’m still scowling at it. But it’s also still SATURDAY.

Sunday morning, with those 5 emails burning in my inbox, I finally send Dr. NMT my opinion. I suggest fixes, changes to sentence structure, content changes. I’m blunt, knowing that email is inherently blunt and somewhat snippy.

Later that night, about 9 hours later, I get: Re: Revised poster again 4 the Majors Fair. It’s sent only to me. I note the addition to the subject line of “again.” Now I’m the one at fault making him work on a Sunday, after he sends me and over a dozen others multiple emails on a Saturday. Because he’ll be “busy at an all-day…” that week.

About 1 hour later, the entire department plus 1-2 retired professors gets another email: Final Poster 4 Majors Fair. In the email, Dr. NMT thanks me and one other professor for our “feedback.”

Monday morning around 9, Dr. NMT forwarded to  the entire department plus 1-2 retired professors an email she sent to an administrator in charge of the Majors Fair: FWD: 4 our Majors’ Fair, forms forwarded for you.

An hour later, Dr. NMT forwards to the entire department plus 1-2 retired professors the administrator’s bubbly response and promise to print enough “flyers” to hand out at the Fair.

A few of these poster-flyers appear on the bulletin boards in our building, on Dr. NMT’s door, on the division office door. They’re not flyers but mini-posters, about 12 x 18 or so.

A week goes by.

Yesterday, I finally found a bulletin board where someone had put 2 of the poster-flyers, which feature not only my name but my picture, took the extra one down, and taped it to my crowded office door.

Leave a Reply

